Some basic settings for the first time use of NAS.

Currently reading
Some basic settings for the first time use of NAS.

NAS
DS1522+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Hi all,

i need your help if possible. Since i bought my first NAS yesterday. The DS1522+ in combination with 4 IronWolf ST4000NV006 16TB in total.
And since i am new to NASses i want to know something.

I will group it in several parts.

Access / Remote access / Security
- I want to access the NAS remotly but secured (how to do that?
I saw an YouTube video of NetworkChuck what is using an Cloudflare Tunnel (almost like a revuresed lookup)
Is this possible for an NAS, but to have it secure?

Backup storage (external devices like smartphones)
  • I want to backup all our GMAIL account photos and pictures, and to keep using this solution, so no more cloud from the techgiants.
  • Creating shared folders, home folders for each user within our home, and some friends of course. (but without using the synology connect link, will this be possible?)

Additional settings
What are great settings while setup the machine? on internet there is a lot, but i want to know from the synology experts.

Last edited:
I want to access the NAS remotly but secured (how to do that
Two ways to consider:
  1. VPN
  2. Reverse Proxy
There are plenty of tutorials for each. I personally prefer the Reverse Proxy methods because all configurations are done on the NAS (Control Panel > Login Portal > Advanced > [Reverse Proxy]). Port 443 is the only port forward on your router. And the Reverse Proxy method can be deployed with DDNS.

Check out How to Access a Synology NAS Remotely. This article by wundertech.net covers a lot of ground, including VPN and Reverse Proxy instructions. I can also recommend SpaceRex for his helpful videos on youtube.

Also check out Synology 101 - Part 5: Security & access on this website as part of the Syno 101 help docs.
-- post merged: --

Additional settings