DS720+
Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Good day all -

I am a new home-user of a Synology DS720+ and I am reaching out in hopes to find recommendations about configuring SSD cache.

My current set-up and use: (2) 4TB HDD Seagate IronWolf drives in RAID1 and (1) Seagate IronWolf 510 M.2 SSD configured as read-only cache. The NAS is connected over a gigabit network. Currently, I use the NAS as a media server (DSVideo, music, SynologyDrive, Cal/CardDAV) and there are only 3 users of the the NAS (2 locally, 1 remotely). I have just started dabbling with Docker and VMs - My first docker container is Bitwarden_rs and I intend on setting up a pi-hole container as well. I may add a web server in the future as well. As for VMs, I'm not certain what my use case will look like, but I am currently in my second semester in a Cybersecurity program and I am told that VMs will be a necessary tool.

So on to my question: is it worth getting a second M.2 SSD for my use case? My Cache Advisor is currently showing: 97MB Hot, 64GB Warm, 447GB Cold, 169GB Archived. The Used capacity is currently only at 5.67GB. This seems like such an insignificant amount that adding another SSD would be way over-kill. Would read-write cache improve any of the services I mentioned? I have read that read-write cache is a little more risky due to potential data loss and it would be best implemented with a UPS, which I don't have. Any thoughts, suggestions, or questions very much welcomed!

Congrats on the purchase of your NAS and welcome to this forum.

So on to my question: is it worth getting a second M.2 SSD for my use case?
You're first SSD sounds already quite decent to me. I'm not sure myself if you would gain anything with a 2nd SSD cache as it stand right now...

Would read-write cache improve any of the services I mentioned?