Storage pools/volumes and RAID type

NAS
DS920+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Hi,

fairly new to the world of Synology NAS. I am about to take delivery of a DS920+ with 4 times 4TB. My question is about the storage pools/storage volumes.
I would like to pair the hard drives as follow: one pair for business and one pair for personal stuff (for each pair there is the main drive, while the other drive is used for backup).
Given my "idea" of setup,
- should I create one single RAID6 storage pool (and have 4 volumes - one for business, one for business's backup, one for personal stuff and the last one for backup of personal stuff)
- or is it wiser to create two RAID1 storage pools (each pool would have 2 volumes and hence one pool for business and one for personal).

I guess having multiple pools is less efficient as a single one (?) I am leaning towards the one-pool solution. However, given that I am fairly new to nas, does it make sense? or shall I go for another type of RAID?

Backup in the same enclosure is not backup just as RAID is not backup. So with that out of the way, if you are looking for a redundant scenario then maybe 2xRAID1 would be better and safe just because you will have logically separated volumes (2 storage pools with a single RAID1 volume).

Having multiple volumes in a single pool (like RAID6) would give you the same raw space and redundancy as 2xRAID1, so it's really up to you how you want to solve this. If you are going with a single larger pool with 2 drive redundancy you are again having the same raw space as 2xRAID1 but logically a single volume vs two.

From a "safe point" perspective (IMHO), running with 2xraid1 would be better, but do not consider RAID as a backup in any of the above scenarios. Especially if you will keep the "backup" drives in the same NAS.

Backup needs to be a copy of data on a separated device (hdd, nas, cloud etc) from your main source.

Welcome to the forum!