Synology Drive Client data taking most of my laptop SSD

Currently reading
Synology Drive Client data taking most of my laptop SSD

NAS
DS220J
Operating system
  1. Linux
I have a DS220J with 6TB drives (i.e. a mirrored pair) - it's set up with straightforward default installation/set-up options (I'm new to all this). I use Linux Mint on a couple of PCs and I've installed Synology Drive Client 3.0.1 on both. One is a desktop with a 2TB drive and all is well. The other is a laptop with a 256GB SSD. The latter is now perilously full; I didn't realise that files put into my structure under the "SynologyDrive" folder structure would also be duplicated across not only the NAS but the local storage too (and eventually - once synced - all other PCs with Drive Client). This is fine on my desktop but about to cause a problem on my laptop.

I'm hoping to leave things with the Drive Client on the desktop but what can I do on the laptop to avoid having a local copy? Is there a setting on the local copy of Drive Client to not duplicate stuff? Should I use Samba on the laptop and simply map to the NAS drives - I realise I won't then have an offline copy available but that's no great problem?

What does everyone else do? If I do have to uninstall the laptop copy of Drive Client, presumably I do that before deleting the local copy of the files since that would delete them across the whole network?

Help!

Many thanks, Mark B.

Is there a setting on the local copy of Drive Client to not duplicate stuff?
only win client has a "streaming" feature atm. Linux and macOS don't, so, getting the full content of the Drive is what you will get.

Should I use Samba on the laptop and simply map to the NAS drives