Operating system
  1. Linux
  2. macOS
  3. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Last edited:
Recently, I installed a DS223 with two 4TB SSDs for a client's small office for few non-technical individuals. They asked me to find, purchase and set up a video surveillance system 16 channel with initial 8-10 cams. The building is wired for IP cameras. I noted the existence of the Surveillance Station on the NAS and I believe DS223 supports 16 cams.
I am interested in understanding how this solution compares to companies with a primary focus on security, such as GW Security, Lorex, Swann, etc. If anyone who has installed these systems before could kindly share some pros and cons regarding the choice between Synology and midrange security companies (budget ~2Kish) , I would highly appreciate the insights.

I'm not an expert on neither video surveillance system but super interested to learn. I have done hours of research and totally dig the tech. Planning to use&set up smart alerts for faces, pets, packages, intrusion detection and use available deterrence features.

Last edited:
I noted the existence of the Surveillance Station on the NAS and I believe DS223 supports 16 cams
I can't give you much feedback on other NVRs such as Lorex, Swann, etc, but I can give you some insight how Synology's Surveillance Station works.

I have 5 cameras (four TC500s and one HikVision) running my home security system on my DS220+. It works well. However, the DS220+ has an intel processor which does some CODEC processing. I don't think your DS223 has the same abilities to process H.265.

I also use the Android version of DS Cam mobile app for push notifications.