"System rotated the earliest version of ...."

Currently reading
"System rotated the earliest version of ...."

Shadow

Subscriber
531
174
NAS
DS216+II, DS118, DS718+
Router
  1. RT2600ac
  2. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Last edited:
I'm using Drive to keep my NAS'es in sync with each other.
Versioning is disabled in Drive.
The sync is working fine, does anyone know why these "System rotated the earliest version of ...." message popup everywhere in the logs...?

2020-04-08_14-07-25.jpg
 

jeyare

Subscriber
1,602
541
the red cross is means - deleted, in your case deleted last possible version
but you don't have Versioning enabled. Hm.

check all the Teams/Home folders in Drive console for Versioning. Just to be sure.
check - where you can find these "versioned" files in your NAS. Then try to select one of the file in File Station, left click (win), then click to Synology Drive console. When you see it, you have enabled versioning.
 

fredbert

Moderator
NAS Support
Subscriber
1,697
692
NAS
DS1520+, DS218+, DS215j
Router
  1. RT2600ac
  2. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Logically you can think of versioning being disabled is the same as version history of 1 (the latest). By implementing it this way you don't have the have two process flows, just one that checks max version parameter and deletes ones that exceed it (according to the rotation policy).

As such, if you didn't have a special logging rule to say 'if max version parameter = 1' then don't log' you will log all deletions whether the GUI says versioning disabled or max versions >1.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Trending threads

Top