Currently reading
WebSocket – When, Why & Watchout

NAS
220+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
Newbie here. Although I learned programming with punch cards, networking is new to me.

Setup: Motorola 6800 --> Asus RT-AX88U --> DS220+ (DSM 7.1.1 Update 2)
Remote Access: DDNS with LetsEncrypt Cert --> Reverse Proxy
Use:
  • Synology packages: Office/Drive (sync)/Photo
  • Mobile apps: DS Finder/Photo/Secure Signin/Drive/DS File
  • Future: Chat/Calendar/Notes
All is working well :). Yet I am not sure if I should enable WebSocket in Control Panel > Login Portal > Advanced > Reverse Proxy > Edit > Custom Header. after surveying this forum for answers to my questions, I have come up blank. Thus, the reason for this post and request for wisdom from others with more experience.

I understand that the WebSocket protocol, which offers a continuous (open) two-way connection until it is closed by either end, may have advantages for Synology’s surveillance package. But at present, I don’t use the surveillance package.

Q1: What Packages/Services would benefit from or require enabling WebSocket?​
Q2: Are there additional security risks associated with enabling WebSocket?​
Q3: What are the unforeseen (for a newbie) consequences for enabling WebSocket?​

Thank you in advance for your kind replies.

Welcome to the forum! Good to have more "old school" people here ;).

Q1: What Packages/Services would benefit from or require enabling WebSocket?
Personally I only enable this on apps/platforms that need it and require it. Regarding syno apps, while I use most of these, none are going over RP, so I can't answer with 100%, but I can say that Chat might be the one that will need/support websocket if nothing else then for the notifications to work.

Now this might be incorrect, but most chat platforms that I have used (and still do), do run that way. Again, it might not be in the case of Syno Chat.