What the %$#^& is "Deactivate Drive"?

Currently reading
What the %$#^& is "Deactivate Drive"?

421
166
NAS
DS212J, DS214play, DS216, DS216play, DS414, DS918+, RS816
Router
  1. RT2600ac
  2. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
I've never noticed this before, but in Storage Manager, if you go to HDD/SSD, and select a drive, and click the "Actions" button, one of the options is the rather scary looking "Deactivate".

If you choose Drive 1, and are brave enough to click on "Deactivate," you get a warning: "This action will kick Drive 1 out of the associated storage pool, volume, and system partition."

Whaaat?

So what would that do to the data in the volume? I would LOVE it if this option means I can, at will, remove, say, two of four drives the storage pool, and have the storage pool essentially shrink to two drives, and then create a new storage pool with the drives I just deactivated. But that seems too good to be true. I can find NO documentation on this feature. Anyone know what it does?

There's a post on the "other forum," here, that purports to answer the question, but it's not clear whether the author knows what he's talking about: Synology Community
 

Rusty

Moderator
NAS Support
6,094
1,785
www.blackvoid.club
NAS
DS718+, DS918+, 2x RS3614RPxs+
Router
  1. RT1900ac
  2. RT2600ac
  3. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Regardless of what the option means, pulling one drive out of the array will put that same array in the degraded mode. You will not be able to shrink a volume to a smaller number of drives unless you destroy it and start again.
 
421
166
NAS
DS212J, DS214play, DS216, DS216play, DS414, DS918+, RS816
Router
  1. RT2600ac
  2. MR2200ac
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
That's what I expected, Rusty; I mean, it would be lovely, but there's no magical way to reformat a Storage Pool without deleting the data within. Anyway, I just tried the Deactivate Button, and it did exactly what you thought it would: It was the same as if I had just pulled the drive out of the DiskStation by hand. It invites me to put in another drive, and then Repair the Storage Pool.
 

jann

Subscriber
36
21
NAS
DS1520+
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
Okay, folks. I *know* this thread is over a year old, but just exactly WHY can't we remove a drive? I just wonder. If our precious Synology can expand itself, it can CERTAINLY reduce itself (if there's space avail). My point being I have all my larger drives in my storage pool. (18,18,14,14,12). I HAVE the older drives in a cabinet (8,8,8,8,8). I would LOVE to be able to use the 8's if a drive failure occurred OR reduce the drive capacity by removing the 12 and putting something else as a hot swap.

It is inconceivable that they can expand a drive, but not reduce it. They could, but they don't!

Just my $.02...
 
618
331
NAS
RS1221+, DS1517+, RS819, RS217
Operating system
  1. macOS
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
@jann As you say, an old thread but now with added confusion.

- Firstly you ask why it cannot be done.
- Secondly you state that it 'certainly' can be done.

Which is it?
Who is 'they'?
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Similar threads

  • Locked
CLOSING THREAD, as this was resolved here: Oh, No... DSM 7.1 *REMOVED* critical SSD/NVME Cache...
Replies
1
Views
310
I can confirm that this worked for me with DSM 7.1 Enable SSH on `Control Panel/Terminal & SNMP` Boot up...
Replies
10
Views
2,012
Sorry I didn't check forum often. Today I updated the DSM and S.M.A.R.T. database, the issue is gone...
Replies
141
Views
11,524
I think there’s a link on the bottom that would have said sign in using another method. From there you...
Replies
4
Views
720
RESOLVED: Synology Support applied a hot patch to my NAS that corrected the R/W cache issue causing the...
Replies
2
Views
2,020
Hi. If I share a folder in my Drive with another user, who uses Windows (3.0.1) or macOS (3.0.1) Drive...
Replies
0
Views
852
  • Solved
They cause the drive to be remounted.
Replies
9
Views
3,282

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Top