Why is my volume increasing even though I'm deleting files?

Currently reading
Why is my volume increasing even though I'm deleting files?

484
97
NAS
DS220+, DS918+, RS1219+
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. Android
So I'm pulling a bunch of photos off of old computers onto my NAS. I first pull them into a generic folder on volume 2 with all of the same folder structure as what they had from the computer I copied them from. I then use PhotoMove software to pull them out of the old, messed up folder hierarchy and place them into new, organized folders in the Photo->Moments directory. Part of the photo move software will compare the photos I'm moving to photos that are alreadyin the destination folder for deduplication purposes. Any duplicates are sent to a separate folder for me to delete later. I'm getting close to maxing out my current hard drive capacity, but I know that I have tons of duplicates. When I delete the duplicates, I also check to make sure that I am emptying the Recycle bin. However, ever time I do a move, my overall system volume has been increasing, despite actually deleting thousands of photos. I'm probably not explaining it the best, but I can't figure out where my storage capacity is going.

My backups are not on the same volume as the photos, so I don't believe that is my issue.
 
I believe I might have found part of my problem. There is a Recycle folder in my original folder that I have been emptying via File Station in DSM. This folder shows as being empty in File Station. However, if I open Drive, there is another Recycle folder, and that one was jammed full of pics. I don't know if the Drive Recycle and the File Station Recycle are the same (they should be, I'm going working out of my user's Home folder), but once I emptied the Recycle folder via Drive, then my used capacity finally dropped. It's like Drive was showing more files than File Station.
 
Upvote 0
Drive is totally different environment from the Filestation, then you have independent Recycle bin for the Drive operation. You need manage both.

41AD366D-937D-406D-89AB-195CD329EE0F.jpeg
 
Upvote 0
Drive is totally different environment from the Filestation, then you have independent Recycle bin for the Drive operation. You need manage both.

View attachment 2737
Yeah, that's what I discovered. Seems odd that they don't use the same recycle bin.

Is there another hidden bin for the photos/Moments folder somewhere? Moments somewhere? I haven't found one there.
 
Upvote 0

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Welcome to SynoForum.com!

SynoForum.com is an unofficial Synology forum for NAS owners and enthusiasts.

Registration is free, easy and fast!

Back
Top