Currently reading
Windows 10 drive mapping does not stick

NAS
DS213J
Operating system
  1. Windows
Mobile operating system
  1. iOS
I'm now to NAS. Just got a DS213J to try out and learn before committing to a more expensive newer unit. I have mapped drives on two Windows 10 Pcs on my lan and it works fine, for a day. Then the next day the mapping breaks. I'm using this convention \\192.168.1.9\video for example. Have assigned a static IP to the NAS via DSM control panel, in range my router does not use for DHCP. But it just does not stick. The image file shows the error message. My skill level is that I'm a software salesman, so a bit technical; build my own desktop PCs but don't know much about networking. Any ideas or help would be appreciated.
DriveMapFail.JPG

Do you need letter mappings? You should be able to access the NAS entirely via Windows Explorer. Or set a desktop shortcut to the NAS.

Often the mapping handshake occurs before the connection is ready to be made. If this happens you can add a task to Task Scheduler to map after login.

Upvote 0
Do you need letter mappings? You should be able to access the NAS entirely via Windows Explorer. Or set a desktop shortcut to the NAS.

Often the mapping handshake occurs before the connection is ready to be made. If this happens you can add a task to Task Scheduler to map after login.
Yes, I can access the Nas itself. The drive letter mapping just seems quicker easier if it could work. I’m not familiar the task scheduling for the mapping but I’ll look into it. Don’t really want to add another program for explorer. Thanks

Upvote 0
Yes, I can access the Nas itself. The drive letter mapping just seems quicker easier if it could work. I’m not familiar the task scheduling for the mapping but I’ll look into it. Don’t really want to add another program for explorer. Thanks